Capitol’s plan for wastes, pollution control gets NSWMC nod

The National Solid Waste Management Commission (NSWMC) recently approved the Solid Waste Management (SWM) Plan of the Cebu Provincial Government, which would last for 10 years from 2018 up to 2027.

Cebu Gov. Hilario P. Davide III and Vice Gov. Agnes A. Magpale actively supported the comprehensive and ecological approach to managing Cebu towns’ solid waste management through waste reduction, prevention, source separation, reuse, recycling and composting, and excluding waste incineration.

Davide earlier said that barangays, which are the frontline of the government, are required to develop an ecological solid waste management program and to promote waste segregation.

The governor added that LGUs are mandated to implement schedules for collection of biodegradable and non-biodegradable discards, and set up material recovery facilities (MRFs) in every barangay or cluster.

Cebu Provincial Environment and Natural Resources Office (Penro) Chief Jason Lozano said the plan will serve as a guide for all towns and barangays in the province in mitigating the cruel effects of unregulated garbage that was among the causes of flooding in urban areas.

“Atung gi-awhag ang publiko sa pag kooperar ug pakigsabot sa mga opisyales sa barangay kabahin sa paghipos sa basura, kay walay lain nga makatabang niini kun dili ang mga katawhan ra gihapon,”Lozano said.

The Capitol’s 10-year SWM Plan includes the establishment of MRF in barangay and city levels, composting of biodegradable waste to be used as organic fertilizers, recycling of non-biodegradable waste, wastes segregation and construction of sanitary landfill.

The NSWMC is the major agency tasked to implement Republic Act 9003, or the Ecological Solid Waste Management Act of 2000. It is tasked for the institutionalization of a national program that will manage the control, transfer, transport, processing and disposal of solid waste in the country.

In 2017, Davide led the preparation for the clustered construction of MRFs in all 16 provincial and district hospitals, with Cluster I costing at least P1.6 million. These garbage disposal systems will ensure a safe waste disposing method in health facilities in Cebu.

Cluster I facilities include provincial hospitals in Danao City, Bogo City and Balamban, Ricardo Maningo Memorial Hospital in Camotes Island, and district hospitals in Daanbantayan, Bantayan, and Tuburan.

Cluster II, includes district hospitals in Minglanilla, Badian, Barili and Oslob towns with a total construction cost of P1.5 million.

In June of this year, the Capitol turned over a P500,000-worth of rectangular MRF in Barangay Lamesa, Balamban where the facility was built some 12 kilometers away from the town proper. The MRF sits on a 100-square-meter lot and is made of concrete wall with its galvanized iron roofing.

Lozano also urged local government units to support the Capitol’s move by adding more personnel to enforce the plan that was approved by the NSWMC last Oct. 29.

Lozano added that he is looking forward that the governor will allocate more funds for the plan that also needs more technical assistance and programming.

The Six-Key Development Agenda of Davide and Magpale also highlights environmental protection, climate change and disaster risk management.

Section 16 of Republic Act 9003 requires local government units as primarily responsible for the enforcement of policies set by the NSWMC.

Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *