Capitol to get P101-M assistance from DOH’s enhancement program

The Cebu Provincial Government has been chosen as a recipient of the Department of Health (DOH)’s P101.3-million assistance, through its Health Facility Enhancement Program (HFEP).

This assistance will be released in two parts as governed by separate memorandum of agreements (MOA) to be signed by Gov. Hilario P. Davide III, Provincial Health Office Chief Rene Catan, and DOH 7 Director Dr. Jaime Bernadas.

The Cebu Provincial Board (PB) on Monday, Oct. 22, passed and approved a resolution authored by PB Member Christopher Baricuatro authorizing Davide, in behalf of the Province, to sign the MOA with DOH for the department’s P75.3-million assistance to the local government units’ (LGUs) hospitals.

A separate Baricuatro-authored resolution was also approved authorizing Davide, representing the Province, to sign the MOA with DOH for another P26.005-million assistance for the provincial and district hospitals.

Both resolutions have similar provisions and intentions, which is to upgrade the health facilities of LGUs.

The health department has been providing assistance to LGUs to improve the quality of services of the hospitals so that it can comply with the DOH’s licensing and PhilHealth accreditation requirements, read the resolutions’ provisions.

The cash assistance, including the P26.005 million that has been appropriated in the General Appropriations Act (GAA), will be used to improve the services of local hospitals in providing affordable, quality tertiary care and specialized treatment. It is also for the procurement of various medical and laboratory equipment for provincial and district hospitals.

The selection of the hospital-beneficiaries was made through a consultation conducted by the DOH in the 16 provincial and district hospitals in Cebu.

The procurement of various medical equipment, meanwhile, will be made upon the discretion of Catan and heads of recipient hospitals.

For the P75-million assistance for 12 towns and cities, these are the four provincial hospitals in the cities of Bogo, Danao, Carcar, and the town of Balamban, as well as the eight district hospitals in the towns of Badian, Argao, Oslob, Bantayan, San Francisco, Malabuyoc, Tuburan and Barili.

For the P26.005 million assistance, the DOH chose the four provincial hospitals in Bogo, Danao, Carcar and Balamban, and district hospitals in Badian, Argao and Oslob.

Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *