12 Paglaum scholars flew to Korea for 5-day leadership training

Twelve scholars under the Paglaum program of the Cebu Provincial Government left for Pyeongchang in Gangwon Province, South Korea on Feb. 14 for a five-day leadership training.

Provincial Women’s Commission (PWC) Consultant Heddah Largo said the 12 Paglaum scholars were selected from the seven districts of the Province.

Largo added that the Cebu Provincial Government received an invitation from the South Korean Government for a leadership training for the youth.

She said the scholars will be back in Cebu on Feb. 21.

Aside from the five-day training, Largo shared that the scholars will also have a whole-day tour in Pyeongchang.

At present, the Province has over 1,300 Paglaum scholars.

Since only 12 can travel to South Korea, Largo said two representatives per district were chosen among the youth presidents through a draw by lot.

She added that they chose the presidents to be sent there so when they come back, they will be “more assertive as a leader.”

“We are sending the scholars there. We hope to educate the students nga naa sa kahimtang nga kabus and these are the students nga nagkinahanglan og financial and training. Duha ka representatives per district aron matan-aw nila what kind of leadership sa Korea nga pwede nila magamit sa Pilipinas,” said Largo.

She added that the Korean Government will shoulder the expenses for the air fare, room accommodation and food, while the Capitol will provide for the winter coat and allowances.

“They might become the leaders of tomorrow. We are hoping that they will become the next governor, vice governor or mayor. Kinahanglan man nato sila ma-train daan,” said Largo.

Last year, all the Paglaum scholars underwent a leadership training from September to November.

Another leadership program designed for the leaders of every town was conducted by the Ramon Aboitiz Foundation Inc. last Jan. 30, 31 and Feb. 1 this year.

Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *