Naga is the only LGU in CV with approved waste plan

Naga City’ 10-year solid waste management (SWM) plan has been approved by National Solid Waste Management Commission (NSWMC).

The city becomes the only local government unit (LGU) in region 7 that has an approved SWM plan since the implementation Republic Act 9003 or the Ecological Solid Waste Management Act of 2000.

But the city never knew it until December last year. Naga’s SWM plan was approved on October 22, 2010. The notice was sent to the city only last December 3, 2015, about one year from the expiration of its SWM plan next year.

The Cebu provincial government has been calling the towns and component cities to be serious in the implementation of the environmental law.

In Cebu Province, 11 LGUs failed to submit their respective SWM plans.

The technical working group of the Capitol’s Solid Waste Management Board held a consultative meeting with the LGUs on January 11 at the University of Cebu-Mambaling, Campus.

Elmer Malaga, SWM In-charge of the Provincial Environment and Natural Resources said the LGU’s common problems are  manpower and the crafting of Waste Analysis and Characterization Study (WACS).

“Most of their solid waste coordinators are multi-tasking and they do not have relevant data to base their WACS on,” he said.

Another requirement set by law is the creation of sanitary landfill. Open or controlled dump sites are no longer allowed.

Alegria Mayor Verna Magallon proposed that a cluster of towns be formed in the south stating that it is not feasible for Alegria to have a landfill on its own.

She requested that the compliance of RA 9003 be brought up again in the League of Municipalities of the Philippines (LMP)- Cebu Chapter assembly on January 22.

Malaga also stated that during the LMP assembly they plan to enter into an agreement with the mayors on the downloading of Php 515,000 financial assistance.

He said this will be used to build their material recovery facilities, which is one component of their SWM plans.

He added that the Capitol is willing to provide technical assistance but it has limited personnel as well. The province is also mandated to
submit its own SWM plan but it couldn’t proceed without the LGUs’ disposal plans.

Malaga informed that NSWMC sent a letter, through the Office of the Ombudsman, urging Argao, Bogo City, and Daanbantayan, to submit their SWM plans.

Otherwise, they will be charged under RA 9003 and RA 7160 or the Local Government Code of the Philippines

The towns of Argao and Daanbantayan already submitted its SWM plans while Bogo City was given deadline to submit its plan on or before March 31.