Home / Provincial News / Davide, Magpale still to lead Cebu Province

Davide, Magpale still to lead Cebu Province

| by: Lianne Llesol

The people of the Province of Cebu have spoken. Hilario P. Davide III and Agnes Magpale get to lead the Province of Cebu for another three years.

After some technical glitches, the Provincial Board of Canvassers (PBOC) finally proclaimed Davide as the winner of the gubernatorial race five days after the day of election.

Davide garnered 616,381 votes while his closest rival, Winston Garcia of One Cebu got 593,725 leaving a gap of 22,656 votes.

PBOC also proclaimed Magpale as the winner of the vice-gubernatorial race a day after elections.

She got 711,570 votes while her rival, Nerissa Soon-Ruiz of One Cebu got 475, 975 votes leaving a wide gap of 235,595 votes.

Sa atong mga kaigsuonan, daghan kaayong salamat sa inyong padayong pagsalig. Sa mga supporters sa atong kaatbang, I hope we gain your trust and confidence. Sa atong mga dumadapig, daghan kaayong salamat.Tungod ninyo mi daog kita,” expressed Davide.

(To our fellow Cebuanos, thank you very much for your trusting us again. To the supporters of our rivals, I hope we gain your trust and confidence. To our supporters, thank you very much. We won because of you.)

He also thanked God for giving him another opportunity to serve, his family as well as his partymates for the support.

He added that Cebuanoscan expect better services from this administration.

“We go on with our projects and programs focusing on improving and strengthening health services, food security, infrastructure development, social services and peace and order, among others,” said Davide.

Despite being from different political parties, Davide assured that the administration of President-elect Rodrigo Dutertewill have the Davide administration’s cooperation and support.

“The election is over. It is our duty now to serve the people. The bottomline here is what’s good for Cebu and what else can we do for the Cebuanos,” he said.

Davide and Magpale will officially their fresh term of office on June 30. (Lianne Llesol)