Davao City Government releases 4.5M for earthquake damaged in Cebu Province

IMG_3391Davao City Mayor Rodrigo personally handed over financial assistance worth 4.5 million to nine LGUs in Cebu Province last October 21.

Six municipalities and three cities in the province received P500,000 each to rehabilitate damaged infrastructures hit by the 7.2 magnitude earthquake.

Mayor Duterte also gave financial assistance to the Cebu City government amounting to P500, 000 and P13.5 million to Bohol.

The recipient municipalities are Argao, Boljoon, Dumanjug, Minglanilla, Sibonga, Tabogon and the cities are Mandaue, Toledo and Talisay.

Duterte shared that recipients were chosen based on data provided by the National Disaster Risk Reduction Management Council (NDRRMC) and Philippine National Police (PNP).

Governor Hilario Davide III witnessed the distribution of Davao City’s financial assistance for the nine LGUs.

Meanwhile, Minglanilla Mayor Elanito Peña disclosed that the aid will be used to purchase relief goods for affected residents in the municipality.

Talisay City Mayor Johnny V. de los Reyes said they would use the money to rehabilitate damaged structures.

At the distribution, Governor Davide took the chance to appeal to Cebuanos not to believe the text messages that there will be another earthquake in Cebu. “Be calm and let’s continue to pray”, Davide said.

Although the earthquake also hit Cebu Province, the Provincial Capitol will act as big brother to its neighboring province. It will be sending relief assistance to Bohol today. Bohol suffered the most damage from the 7.2 earthquake that struck Central Visayas last October 15. (Lee Dela Cerna)