Cebu officials commit to support EPPC

Cebu officials assured to help revive the spirit of a historic uprising, which started in Cebu more than two decades ago.

This was agreed last June 11 when Epifanio de los Santos Avenue (EDSA) People Power Commission (EPPC) held a Salubungan sa Sugbo Forum.

Ang EDSA Revolution ay nagpapakita ng  tunay na katangian ng Pilipinas at pagkatao ng mga Pilipino (The EDSA Revolution shows the true spirit of the Philippines and the Filipino people),” said EPPC Commissioner Cesar Sarino.

He pointed out that the bloodless revolution was the “shiniest moment” in the Philippine history and it started in Cebu.

“We, in Manila, only finished what Cebu has started,” said Sarino who served as Cabinet secretary during the transition government under President Corazon Aquino.

He then urged the mayors and the private sector to participate in the commission’s activities.

Governor Hilario P. Davide III called on the mayors to support the initiatives of EPPC.

He agreed that younger generation who were born after EDSA Revolution are unaware of its importance to the nation and to every Filipino.

For their response, Borbon Mayor Bernard Sepulveda, however, asked the commission to institutionalize their activities so that they will be guided.

Looking beyond the successful EDSA Revolution in 1986 that ousted the dictatorial regime of then President Ferdinand Marcos, EPPC moves to continue to live the spirit of EDSA through civic activities.

In Cebu, EPPC wants to strengthen its network by partnering with the local government officials and the business sector.

Sarino asked towns and cities in Cebu to assign one personnel whom they can regularly contact for their plans and events.

He said most of their volunteers are the youth so they need logistical support to carry out their events.

Some of these activities are book storytelling, tree planting, educational conference, and fund raising activities for the victims of the super Typhoon Yolanda.

Some mayors who were present during the forum were Alan Adlawan of Asturias, Ian Christopher Escario of Bantayan, Merlou Derama of Boljoon, Zigfred Duterte of Tabogon, Dan Jusay of Catmon, and Vincent Franco Frasco of Liloan.

Vice mayors Gilber Arabis of Daanbantayan and Lito Creus Jr. of Malabuyoc were also in attendance.