Cebu gets seventh district

House Bill No. 4427 creating the seventh legislative district of the Province of Cebu has been signed into law by President Benigno S. Aquino III last September 17.

Governor Hilario P. Davide III announced to the media the information he received through a text message from Malacañang yesterday (September 18) morning.

“What happens next is e-publish mana sa Official Gazette. I have asked (second) district Congressman Wilfredo Caminero, kay siya man principal author, to request the Comission on Election to issue a supplemental resolution para ma allocate-tan ug seat ang new district aron (magahinan) ug pondo pud,” he said.

The governor said the Liberal Party, of which he is the Provincial Chairman, will field last termer Provincial Board Member Peter John Calderon for Congressman in the new district.

Incumbent Provincial Board Member Christopher Barricuatro will run under the newly created district.

The towns of Dumanjug, Ronda, Alcantara, Moalboal, Badian, Alegria, Malabuyoc, and Ginatilan comprise the new district.

The divided second district will have the towns of Argao, Dalaguete, Alcoy, Boljoon, Oslob, Santander, and Samboan.

The law was co-authored by Cong. Benhur Salimbangon (fourth district), Aileen Radaza (Lapu-lapu City lone district), and Gwendolyn Garcia (third district).