Capitol lauds top performing schools

The Cebu Provincial Government lauded top performing schools for their extraordinary achievement in different categories for elementary and secondary levels based on the “Our Cebu” program.

The awarding was held during the first Punong Barangay Night and culmination ceremony of the 445th Founding Anniversary of the province last Aug. 22 at the Capitol Social Hall.

Awards were presented by Cebu Vice Governor Agnes Magpale, Liga ng mga Barangay=Cebu Chapter President Celestino Martinez III, Department of Education Provincial Division Superintendent Dr. Arden Monisit, RAFI Executive Director for Integrated Development Unit Marge Gravador, and Cebu Provincial Administrator Atty. Mark Tolentino.

Launched in 2009, the program was established by the Ramon Aboitiz Foundation Inc. (RAFI) in partnership with the Cebu Provincial Government with the vision of making Cebu an ideal place to live, work, play, invest and do business.

It was in 2011 when the search for best schools was formally launched.

Schools were encouraged to develop and improve. They were rated using a scorecard system that used cleanliness, sanitation and health. environment protection, creativity, heritage and culture, and good governance as criteria.

Early preparation

“We prepared early. Teachers started to orient the students on the first month of the school year,” said Veronica Cabahug, principal of Simeon Ayuda Elementary School in Lilo-an.

She felt honored and proud as she received the award that bagged the first place in the Elementary Big School Category.

“Aside from the nurtured garden done by the pupils, we also ensure that we don’t leave vacant areas around the school. We plant vegetables and ornamental plants in those areas. We encourage students to take care of them and learn something from it,” Cabahug said.

Cabahug emphasized that teachers were also properly oriented of the importance of the program, its result and effects to the each student, school and the community.

“It’s very important to be properly oriented because we are dealing with plenty of pupils. We have to educate them. So they don’t only apply it in school but also in their respective homes,” she said.

The other awardees are: BOMEDCO Elementary School, Medellin (1st), Tabla Elementary School, Lilo-an (2nd) and Candungay Elementary School, Barili (3rd) for Category 1-Elementary Small School.

For Category 2-Elementary Central School: Carcar Central School, Carcar City (1st), Borbon Central School, Borbon (2nd) and Compostela Central School, Compostela (3rd).

For Category 3-Elementary Big School: Simeon Ayuda Elementary School, Liloan (1st), Sangat Elementary School, San Fernando (2nd) and Tayud Elementary School, Consolacion (3rd).

For Category 4-Secondary Small School: SK Luis P. Cañete National High School, Daanbantayan (1st), Garing National Highschool, Consolacion (2nd) and Mar & Dorie Derunday MNHS, Borbon (3rd).

For Category 5-Secondary Lead School: Kal-anan National High School, Tabogon (1st), Luciano B. Rama Sr. MNHS, Poro (2nd) and Tuburan National High School, Poblacion, Tuburan (3rd).
And for Category 6-Secondary Big School: Calape National High School, Daanbantayan (1st), Arcelo Memorial National High School, San Vicente, Liloan (2nd) and Lamac National High School, Pinamungajan (3rd).

All Winners received a plaque of recognition and garden tools.

Very pleased

Magpale, who also serves “Our Cebu” program chief, was very pleased with the results and looking forward to continued improvement in quality of life aligning with Capitol’s vision for making Cebu an ideal place to live in.

She recognized the efforts of the evaluators and thanked the teachers “who have done their best in taking on the challenges of the program and living up to its standards—for the good of the schools and for the welfare of the schoolchildren.”