Capitol to join 117th Independence Day Celebration

June 12 is one of the most significant dates in Philippine history. It marks the nation’s independence from the Spanish colonization on June 12, 1898, declared by General Emilio Aguinaldo. It was also on this day when the Philippine flag was first waved before its people and the day the Philippine National Anthem was first played.

The Cebu Provincial Government will join the rest of the nation in commemorating the 117th Philippine Independence Day with this year’s theme “Kalayaan 2015: Tagumpay sa Pagbabagong Nasimulan, Abot Kamay na ng Bayan.”

Vice-governor Agnes Magpale will lead the flag raising ceremony and provincial board member Gigi Sanchez will lead in reciting the “Panunumpa ng Katapatan sa Watawat ng Pilipinas” (Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag of the Philippines) after singing the National Anthem and will be followed by a wreath-laying ceremony at the Statue of Lapu-lapu at the Capitol grounds.

Local Government Units (LGUs) have likewise organized programs and activities in their respective localities in observance of the said celebration.

Furthermore, Iloilo City will be the center of the traditional flag-raising rites and other ceremonial activities slated tomorrow to mark Philippine Independence Day.

President Benigno Aquino III and Ilonggo Senate President Franklin Drilon will lead the 117th Independence Day celebration in the old capital of Sta. Barbara town. It is where the Philippine flag was first raised to inaugurate the provisional revolutionary government of the Visayas in 1898.

Governor Hilario P. Davide III will likewise be in Iloilo to join the rest of the leaders and officials to commemorate Independence Day.