Brgy coordinators to ensure success of FSTP


In promoting agriculture and food security, eight FSTP barangay coordinators per munici
pality have been identified by the provincial government to ensure success and proper implementation of FSTP (Farmer Scientist Training Program) activities at the barangay level.

Currently there are 41 municipalities who have embraced the FSTP program of the provincial government.

OIC Provincial Agriculturist, Dr. Roldan Saragena divulged that from 37 municipalities, another four municipalities have warmly received the FSTP program during the Davide administration. The four new municipalities include: Danao, San Fernando, Daanbantayan and Pilar.

The FSTP barangay coordinators will receive a monthly allowance of two thousand pesos from the provincial government. These barangay coordinators must be a phase three graduate of FSTP before they can qualify to hold the position.

Saragena said that the installation of FSTP barangay coordinators is an innovation of the current administration in support of the Farmer Scientist Training Program, which aims to alleviate the plight of farmers and at the same time empower them.

Aside from barangay coordinators, the Provincial Agriculturists’ Office has also sent directives to every Municipal Agriculturist to identify an FSTP municipal coordinator in their respective towns.

Agriculture and food security tops among the development agenda of Governor Hilario P. Davide III. Davide said that FSTP is a proven formula to increase yields per unit area of farm. Diane Higida