8 LGUs acquire new ‘Kalambuan” buses

The Cebu Provincial Government distributed brand new ‘Kalambuan’ multi-purpose buses to seven towns and one city at the Capitol Grounds on Thursday.

Governor Hilario P. Davide III and Vice-governor Agnes A. Magpale led the ceremonial turnover of the vehicles.

The eight buses are part of the additional 22 buses to be distributed to LGUs who were not able to receive buses from the past administration.

Davide assured that the rest of the LGUs will receive their respective buses as well.

Each of the 34-seater tourist coaster bus costs Php 2.8 million.

The recipient LGUs include Badian, Catmon, Consolacion, Compostela, Samboan, Sogod, Tuburan and the City of Bogo. Each was represented by their respective mayors who thankfully received the unit.

Magpale stressed that the buses are not for municipal activities but also to be used for “Suroy Suroy Sugbo” activities.

“Please take good care of these buses because I know this will serve you well. You will have many opportunities to use these,” said Magpale.

Magpale also thanked the governor for taking care of the coffers of Cebu Province.

Unexpected blessings

Consolacion Mayor Teresa Alegado is grateful of provincial government’s efforts since it had been a long dream for the town to have their own bus similar to the Suroy-Suroy buses of other municipalites.

“Blessings would come unexpectedly. Before, when the buses were distributed to other LGUs, hilak sad mi kay naibog kaayo mi,” said Alegado.

“This is an indication that the administration of Davide and Magpale make true to their promises,” she added.

Also present in the activity were Provincial Board Members Raul Bacaltos, Edsel Galeos, Tata Salvador, Sun Shimura, Miguel Antonio Magpale, Jonkie Ouano and Glenn Bercede. (Heart Rizarri)