22 Capitol Scholars graduate with honors

The Cebu Provincial Government will hold on April 30 a recognition program for its 34 Valedictorian scholars who recently graduated from college.

The province will also give academic awards to 22 scholars who graduated with honors. This 2nd batch of scholars produced three Magna Cum Laude and 19 Cum Laude graduates.

Gov. Hilario P. Davide III, Vice-Gov. Agnes A. Magpale and Board Member Peter Calderon, Chairman of the Committee on Education, will lead the appreciation program dubbed as “A Journey Towards Academic Excellence.” Officials from the Cebu Normal University and Cebu Technological University, where the students graduated from, are also expected to attend. The graduates’ parents will witness the affair.

Spearheaded by the Public Employment Service Office (PESO), the affair will be held at the Capitol social hall. PESO, headed by Dr. Mathea Baguia, is the administrative body of the scholarship program.

According to Dr. Baguia, cash incentives, medals and certificates of recognition will be given to the graduates. Each Magna Cum Laude and Cum Laude graduate will receive P20,000 and P10,000, respectively, on top of the P5,000 incentive for all graduates.

At the recognition program, a noteworthy feature is the graduates’ pledge of commitment. They will commit to give a strong value system to their chosen career and be useful and productive citizens.